Historical Reithaus

Our history

Discussion about setting up an internationally-oriented institute for youth education in Weimar started in 1990, and Weimar’s history and present as a place of learning played an important role. The crux of the discussions was the question of location: should the educational institute stand in the Holzdorf district or in the middle of the city? It is thanks to the dedication of the Thuringian Office for Civic Education, the Working Group of German Educational Institutes (German: AdB e.V. – Arbeitskreis deutscher Bildungsstätten e.V.) and two foundations that the efforts to create an educational institute were finally successful.

In 1996 the Free State of Thuringia and the City of Weimar established the Foundation »European Youth Education and Exchange Centre in Weimar« (German: Europäische Jugendbildungs- und Jugendbegegnungsstätte Weimar, EJBW). It was eventually decided that the EJBW would be established in the heart of Weimar’s city centre – a conceptual decision to be physically close to Weimar’s traditions and history, and so to really use the city as a place of learning and a place to learn from (German: »Lernort Weimar«).

The educational institute was primarily built and renovated with the aid of the Free State of Thuringia and of the Federal Government, and until its completion the EJBW occupied two rooms in Buttelstedter Street. The official inauguration took place on the 3rd of September 1999, the year that Weimar was the European Capital of Culture. Today the institute has outstanding workshop and conference capabilities at its command: a central main building, five summer houses, the historic Reithaus and two old city villas are perfect for educational projects and conventions. Today the EJBW is a nationally and internationally-networked youth educational institute, and what is more, an attractive place for conferences and overnight stays in Weimar.

History of the Reithaus

The historic Reithaus (German for »riding hall«) is located right next to the City Palace and the Duchess Anna Amalia Library.

It was constructed between 1715 and 1718 by Christian Richter in the Baroque style, and in 1803-1804 the architect Heinrich Gentz commissioned its conversion. It was at this time that the building received its classical façade, which can still be seen today.

Like the City of Weimar, the Reithaus has a most eventful history. From 1767 to 1768 the Starcksche Theatre Society performed Lessing’s Minna of Barnhelm in the building, and in 1790 it was graced by French street theatre; the Frenchman Burdot offered curious onlookers a fireworks display in front of the Reithaus. During the 1806 Battle of Jena-Auerstedt (Prussia vs Napoleon) it served to house captured Prussians and Saxons, before hosting the French equestrian acrobat Tourniaire with his artistic horsemanship and balancing act in 1821. A year later Tourniaire returned and brought wild animals with him: lions, leopards, gazelles and even polar bears.

Until 1845 the Reithaus was under baronial administration and later passed into the possession of the City. In 1855 it served as temporary accommodation for prisoners after a penitentiary burnt down. In 1920 it was converted again, making its future use as a riding hall impossible; the Bauhaus School had planned to develop the Reithaus into an exhibition space, but these plans were rejected. Finally, the Reithaus was turned into an administrative building for the Thuringian government, whereupon the Bauhaus School provided the plans and received two ground-floor rooms for its own purposes in return.

After the end of the Second World War an exhaustive renovation took place, and in 1947-1948 the Ministries for Health and Transport had their offices in the Reithaus. From 1951 the building was used as a children’s cultural centre (House of the Pioneers), but after 1989-1990 the building was able to be used for work with children and young people, thanks to a dedicated citizens’ initiative, and between 1991 and 1996 hosted a pupils’ recreation centre.

Since the 10th of July 1999 the Reithaus has been thoroughly restored and used as a workshop and event space for the EJBW. It has been an integral part of the educational institute and is used for seminars as well as large meetings and conferences. The Reithaus is a historic listed building.

share on Facebook

Historisches Reithaus

Entstehungsgeschichte der EJBW

Die Diskussionen um die Errichtung einer international orientierten Jugendbildungsstätte am Standort Weimar reichen bis in das Jahr 1990 zurück. Dabei spielten vor allem die Geschichte und Gegenwart des Lernorts Weimar eine wichtige Rolle. Zentraler Punkt der Verhandlungen war die Frage des Standorts: Sollte die Bildungsstätte im Ortsteil Holzdorf oder doch mitten in der Stadt stehen? Dem Engagement der Landeszentrale für politische Bildung Thüringen, des Arbeitskreises deutscher Bildungsstätten (AdB) und zweier Stifter ist es zu verdanken, dass die Bemühungen um die zu schaffende Bildungsstätte schließlich erfolgreich waren.

Im Jahre 1996 gründeten der Freistaat Thüringen und die Stadt Weimar die Stiftung Europäische Jugendbildungs- und Jugendbegegnungsstätte Weimar (EJBW). Man beschloss schließlich, sie zentral in der Weimarer Innenstadt anzusiedeln – eine konzeptionelle Entscheidung für die räumliche Nähe zu Tradition und Geschichte der Stadt Weimar und damit dafür, die Stadt wirklich als »Lernort« zu nutzen.

Gebaut und saniert wurde die Begegnungsstätte in erster Linie mit Mitteln des Freistaates Thüringen und des Bundes. Bis zur Fertigstellung bezog die EJBW zwei Räume an der Buttelstedter Straße. Die offizielle Eröffnung fand am 3. September 1999 im Rahmen des Europäischen Kulturstadtjahres Weimar statt. Heute verfügt die Einrichtung über hervorragende Seminar- und Tagungsmöglichkeiten: Ein zentrales Hauptgebäude, fünf Gartenhäuser, das historische Reithaus und zwei alte Stadtvillen laden zu Bildungsveranstaltungen und Tagungen ein. Die EJBW ist heute eine bundesweit und international vernetzte Jugendbildungsstätte und darüber hinaus ein attraktiver Tagungs- und Übernachtungsort in Weimar.

Geschichte des Reithauses

In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zum Stadtschloss und zur Herzogin Anna-Amalia-Bibliothek liegt das historische Reithaus.

Das Reithaus wurde von 1715 bis 1718 durch Christian Richter im barocken Stil erbaut. In den Jahren 1803 und 1804 gab der Architekt Heinrich Gentz einen Umbau in Auftrag. In dieser Zeit erhielt das Haus die klassizistische Fassade, die heute noch zu sehen ist.

Das Reithaus hat, wie die Stadt Weimar, eine höchst bewegte Geschichte. In den Jahren 1767 bis 1768 führte die Starcksche Theatergesellschaft in diesem Haus Lessings »Minna von Barnhelm« auf. 1790 gastierte ein französisches Straßentheater: Der Franzose Burdot bot vor dem Reithaus den Schaulustigen ein Feuerwerk. Während der Schlacht bei Jena und Auerstedt (Preußen gegen Napoleon) im Jahr 1806 diente es der Unterbringung gefangener Preußen und Sachsen. 1821 gastierte der französische Kunstreiter Tourniaire mit Seiltanz und Reitkünsten im Reithaus, ein Jahr später brachte er wilde Tiere mit: Löwen, Leoparden, Eisbären und Gazellen.

Bis 1845 war das Reithaus unter fürstlicher Verwaltung. Später ging es in städtischen Besitz über. Im Jahr 1855 diente es nach einem Brand im Zuchthaus als provisorische Unterkunft für die Häftlinge. 1920 fand ein Umbau statt, der den Zweck »Reithalle« fortan verunmöglichte. Das Bauhaus hatte geplant, das Reithaus als Ausstellungsraum auszubauen – diese Pläne wurden jedoch abgelehnt. Schließlich wurde aus dem Reithaus ein Verwaltungsgebäude der Landesregierung. Das Bauhaus lieferte die Pläne zum Ausbau und erhielt zwei Erdgeschossräume für eigene Zwecke.

Nach Kriegsende fand eine gründliche Renovierung statt. Von 1947 bis 1948 hatten die Ministerien für Gesundheit und Verkehr ihren Sitz im Reithaus. Ab 1951 wurde das Gebäude als Kinderkulturzentrum (Haus der Pioniere) genutzt. Nach 1989/90 konnte das Gebäude dank einer engagierten Bürgerinitiative für die Kinder- und Jugendarbeit erhalten werden – und beherbergte zwischen 1991 und 1996 ein Schülerfreizeitzentrum.

Seit dem 10. Juli 1999 ist das Reithaus nach einer gründlichen Restaurierung Seminar- und Veranstaltungshaus der EJBW. Es ist integraler Bestandteil der Bildungsstätte und wird sowohl für die Seminararbeit, als auch für große Veranstaltungen und Tagungen genutzt. Das Reithaus steht unter Denkmalschutz.

auf Facebook teilen