Das historische »Reithaus« im Park an der Ilm

A place of learning par excellence

More than almost any other place in Germany, the City of Weimar stands for both democracy and barbarism, the classical and the modern, for both internationality and nationalism, for cosmopolitanism and provincial thinking. Weimar cannot be pigeonholed; it has light and dark sides and its history exhibits numerous turning and breaking points. Weimar is and has a special place in German history and culture, one where their duality and ambiguity are plain to see.

It was the Spanish writer and former Buchenwald prisoner Jorge Semprún who said, »Buchenwald – better put, the double-name Weimar-Buchenwald – is the historic spot which best symbolises this double duty: of working through mourning to be able to deal with the past critically, of planning a European future from first principles so that the mistakes of the past might be avoided.« (From his acceptance speech at the conferment of the German Book Trade Peace Prize, 1994).

Through its eventful history Weimar has become a place of learning par excellence – in German, Lernort, not only a place to learn but a place to learn from. The EJBW offers a diverse educational programme which is based on issues and people from the centuries gone by that have left their mark on the City of Weimar and its story, and which follows up on the questions they ask us today. Centre stage in our educational work are the closely-bound concepts of Weimar as a place of learning and learning in an authentic place. The core of our pedagogical concept and all of our educational programmes is the question »What strengthens democracy, and what endangers it?«

Subject areas that the EJBW tackles in its educational programmes for young people:

share on Facebook

Das historische »Reithaus« im Park an der Ilm

Lernort par Excellence

Wie kaum ein anderer Ort in Deutschland steht die Stadt Weimar für Demokratie und Barbarei, für Klassik und Moderne, für Internationalität und Nationalismus, für Weltoffenheit und Provinzdenken. Weimar passt in keine Schublade, Weimar hat Licht- und Schattenseiten und weist in seiner Geschichte zahlreiche Wendepunkte und Bruchstellen auf. Weimar ist ein besonderer Ort der deutschen Geschichte und Kultur, der deren Ambivalenz deutlich zeigt.

Von Jorge Semprún, dem spanischen Schriftsteller und ehemaligen Buchenwald-Häftling, stammt der Satz: »Buchenwald, besser gesagt, das Binom Weimar-Buchenwald, ist der historische Platz, der diese doppelte Aufgabe am besten symbolisiert: die der Trauerarbeit, um der Vergangenheit kritisch Herr zu werden; die der Ausarbeitung von Grundsätzen für eine europäische Zukunft, damit die Irrtümer der Vergangenheit vermieden werden können.« (aus seiner Dankesrede bei der Verleihung des Friedenspreises des Deutschen Buchhandels 1994).

Durch seine bewegte Geschichte ist Weimar zu einem Lernort par Excellence geworden. Die EJBW bietet ein vielschichtiges pädagogisches Programm – ausgehend von Themen und Persönlichkeiten, die die Stadt Weimar und ihre Geschichte in den vergangenen Jahrhunderten geprägt haben, und anknüpfend an damit zusammenhängende aktuelle Fragen. Im Mittelpunkt unserer pädagogischen Arbeit stehen der Lernort Weimar und das damit verknüpfte Lernen am authentischen Ort. Kern unseres pädagogischen Konzeptes und aller Bildungsangebote ist die Frage: »Was stärkt und was gefährdet Demokratie?«.

Themen des Lernortes, welche die EJBW in ihren Bildungsangeboten für Jugendliche aufgreift:

auf Facebook teilen